.

Jack Reacher is on Cruise Control

Tom Cruise plays an ex-Army investigator who puts the smackdown on just about everyone he meets.

Tom Cruise delivers the punishment as an ex-miltary man roped into a murder investigation. He's got to take out the bad guys, save the girl and find the real killer in Jack Reacher.

The Jack Reacher book series has been popular for years. Now it moves to the big screen under Cruise control, with the actor playing a quiet and deadly man.

Cruise is the rare action star who brings both brawn and brains to a role, but in this case he's limited by a weak script. He does, however, excel during the action scenes, packing quite a punch. And he's a real kick in the pants. See the video accompanying this article and you will know what I'm talking about.

What you see is what you get in this movie. Action, reaction, Cruise being brutal and brash — it's all here. The crime that draws the film's reclusive ex-Army investigator out of the shadows — a sniper gunning down people on a city street — couldn't have been a worse one to land in theaters in the wake of recent events in Connecticut...but the show must go on. So the flick-o-meter gives Jack Reacher a three out of five.

There's plenty of action but no real tension and dialogue. Seeing Cruise in this role, I was saying to myself that something just wasn't right about it. I've met Tom Cruise several times and he's a pretty small guy, so he doesn't seem to fit as larger than life Jack Reacher, who is a great character. 

Let me know what you think.

Sound off on my facebook page, TheBrettside.

Shripathi Kamath December 22, 2012 at 03:35 AM
Alan Ladd was a wuss! (Except as Raven) Everyone knows that Mackenna's Gold set the standard for western heroes and villains. Gregory Peck and Omar Sharif, and the ope...HEY WAIT, YOU INSULTING MAVERICK AGAIN? Knock it off!
Ed Sorrels December 22, 2012 at 05:45 AM
The standard for a western lawman was set by James Arness as Marshal Dillon, who could keep cruise in his watch pocket !
JustUs December 22, 2012 at 05:57 AM
It's movies like this that result in stuff like what happened in Connecticut. But no one wants to hold the Hollywood pigs accoutable for promoting violence in America. That's because they pad the wallets of all the Capital Hill scoundrels. Why do you think Obama makes 4 or 5 special trips there during campaign season? To visit the Avenue of the Stars??? hah. Hardly. It's to load up on the blood money that Hollywood makes off all this violence. All of it is shameful, IMO. But most Americans have been desensitized & numbed emotionally and no not what they do. Look how they cheer when we pummel defenseless nations with tons and tons of mega-missiles that blow up entire residential neighborhoods. I'm sure the Good Lord is very pleased with us. :(
MellowMaverick December 22, 2012 at 06:34 AM
Um, Shripathi, Merl Gibson was Maverick, not Tom Cruise.
Tiffany Carter December 22, 2012 at 06:43 AM
if you are doing a movie review you shouldn't say you've met tom cruise a couple of times, it seems really entitled. just do the review. I've met him tons of times and I would never say that, just talk about the film, thank you!
JustUs December 22, 2012 at 06:56 AM
But name dropping increases your public value. Didn't you know that? Everybody wants to be a 'somebody'. Heck, it's the American way! :)
Mr. Logical December 22, 2012 at 07:01 AM
Does he still jump on couches?
American Girl December 22, 2012 at 02:48 PM
He wears shoe lifts
American Girl December 22, 2012 at 02:49 PM
Not since Katie left him
Scott Seaver December 22, 2012 at 04:24 PM
Lee Child was recently interviewed about Cruise's size in this role, and his response was that Jack's size in the books could be "viewed as a metaphor". I guess the metaphor is the money he's raking in for Cruise's purchase of the Reacher movie franchise. Yes, there will be more Reacher movies....
Panglonymous December 22, 2012 at 04:35 PM
Careful, Shri, he's trying to put something oberon you. (Glendorans are known wascals.)
Joanie December 22, 2012 at 04:42 PM
Well, I've never met Cruise, nor have I ever heard of Jack Reacher (guess I'm a cave dweller), so when I do see the movie I won't be disappointed about role casting per size and will base the movie upon it's entertainment content ... that's what I go to the movies for. Hope it's interesting!
Kevin George December 22, 2012 at 05:44 PM
"Um" yourself BK. I think they still have "Top Gun" in VHS, you should watch it.
Gary Moore December 22, 2012 at 07:02 PM
Who in the h--- cares about tom cruise or anything he does!
JustUs December 22, 2012 at 07:11 PM
WC Fields was one of my old favorites. He used to jump up and down on couches too. But he had an excuse. He was normally 3 sheets to the wind while he did it. I really miss WC. One of the original masters when it comes to the one-liner. God rest his soul. I bet he performs nightly for Jesus.
Duhuh December 22, 2012 at 07:40 PM
It's like Jack Nicholson in "One flew over the cuckoos(sp) nest". As long as you haven't read the book, the miscasting doesn't matter (jack's character was supposed to be able to palm a deck of cards, and make them disappear because his hands were so large)
Things I Learned December 22, 2012 at 08:50 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyN8VN4BSzM
Michael December 22, 2012 at 08:57 PM
....he was Maverick in Top Gun....
American Girl December 22, 2012 at 09:14 PM
B.K. he was Maverick!
Amazing Lies December 22, 2012 at 11:01 PM
I too am a Lee Child fan who thoroughly enjoys the Jack Reacher novels. The whole character is predicated on someone who, by his sheer stature, is physically intimidating. Reacher's height and strength are a huge (pun intended) part of all of the stories, coloring the ways in which he is able to deal with those who "mess with him". Tom Cruise thinking he can step in to the role of Reacher is just ludicrous. Like a little boy playing dress-up in his daddy's clothes and shoes. Agreed, Reacher is not just brawn, he has considerable mental skills too, but even so, a blond giant played by a brunette small guy is no match. No credibility, no gravitas. Lifting the weight of disbelief is going to be too much for me with this (and any subsequent) film. What a shame. And what a great opportunity wasted.
Doug Curlee December 22, 2012 at 11:26 PM
if w,c, fields found himself performing for jesus, no one would be more astonished than w.c. fields.. he always figured he'd be performing for that other guy.. way, WAY south of jesus.. doug
JustUs December 23, 2012 at 12:23 AM
Doug, nah. W.C. might have acted like a rascal but I think he had a big heart. I think he made it through the pearly gates. I even think Lenny Bruce made it to heaven. I don't think the good Lord puts too much emphasis on the words we use. As far as I know there is no commandment which states "Thou shalt not swear". It was man who did Lenny in. Not God.
Mark December 23, 2012 at 02:30 PM
We need to bring Jack Bauer back too.
desertpatriot December 23, 2012 at 06:48 PM
tom cruise comes out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SJWj4i5HVU
Galactic Cannibal December 23, 2012 at 07:28 PM
Tom Cruise , like Stallone is a short ass. They both wear elevated shoes. Cruise abandoned his wife, what a jerk !!. Guess what, Cruise like me will run out of time and DIE.. Just like JESUS and MOHAMMAD they are DEAD....ran out of time.
desertpatriot December 23, 2012 at 09:10 PM
"Cruise abandoned his wife, what a jerk !!" err...more like his wives have abandoned 'tomcat' once they discovered his alternative lifestyle choice
Frank H. Robles December 24, 2012 at 05:30 AM
Went to see the movie, good story line, enjoyed the movie. The fight scene when he fights 5 guys was a bit of strecth to belive ....!!! Haven't seen a Short Skinny Guy kick that much butt, since Bruce Lee
tiny December 24, 2012 at 05:44 AM
Also saw it. Earlier had read where in the last Batman movie a place name on the map of Gotham was changed to Sandy Hook. In this movie the young girl who was setting up Tom Cruise was named Sandy. I immediately thought hooker - bingo. What are the odds?
Jerry Nielsen December 25, 2012 at 12:13 AM
I am a fan of Lee Child, and have read all the Reacher series. I looked forward to the movie and with some reservations because Reachers size seems to be an important part of his character. I think overall Tom nailed almost everything else, he had the look and action and verbal qualities that I associate with Reacher. Overall I enjoyed the movie and recommend it to other fans.
curlyquiz February 07, 2013 at 03:48 AM
I agree that Cruise did a good job, within the limits of his physical stature.I don't know who would be a good fit,maybe an unknown?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »